It’s a start

1040377_10151477599070658_268615418_o

We’ll see how this goes… I’ve been fly fishing since I was 10 years old, which is for about 24 years and counting. My main motivation for fishing back in the days had mostly to do with the fact that our local fishing club in the suburbs of Gothenburg, Sweden, was the easiest way to get out in nature, camping, fishing and just generally enjoying the outdoors. In fact, I was 13 year old when we for the first time took the train to a small train station in the middle of nowhere, or more specifically Kaitum, Lappland. The station building was close to the size of a doghouse where we ended up staying the night before we had to take the train back. As we were afraid of missing the train we decided, democratically of course, that no one should sleep during the night. We didn’t miss the train. I keep saying we, and so I feel I should say that this included me and five friends, all several years older than me, from the local angling club, which, if I recall correctly, was named ‘Vapa’ for ‘rod’ in Finnish. Yes, this is a suburb with lots of immigrated Finns, who mostly initially moved there to work on the large Volvo factories in the 70’s. This included my parents. Just a few days ago I asked my dad how he could let me join the others on this trip. I think the reason was that I had decided it. I was, and still can be, quite determined.

Anyway, I may tell more about this trip and others in future posts, but with this I wanted to say that although fly fishing has always been a great interest of mine, because how things panned out in my life, I lost a lot of focus on it for quite some years.  For the past 3 years I’ve been in Manchester for work, which means that I’ve really started to appreciate the greatness of the Scandinavian outdoors a lot more. In particular the ease at which you can go fishing almost anywhere. What really set me off with fly fishing again in particular, was that I found a nice little fly fishing shop in Stockport (which is a town, not a city, because it doesn’t have a kathedral, I was recently made aware of), with very enthusiastic staff. I would go there, mostly on Saturdays and they would take me outside to the grass lawn to test lots of different rods and lines. And when I say go there, I mean walk for around one hour one way. I like walking, hence the obsession with the Swedish mountains. You can see very far on a nice day, but because I always want to see more I would have to walk quite a bit as well. This gives me time to think, which I also like.

Anyway, back to the story. Yes, this shop in Stockport. Because they were so nice and enthusiastic, this soon became my resort to flee the city life, if just for a while (well, not actually even leaving the city, or town, in this case). For a while I gave the British outdoors a shot. It didn’t really compare with Scandinavia, although it has its gems as well (Snowdonia, for instance, except for all the people).

This summer I went fishing in Tännäs, Härjedalen with one of my best friends and some of his close family members and friends, in total six people. One of them is a lot into specimen fishing and as a result fishes for about 100 days per year. He also spent four months in New Zeeland fishing similar streams and rivers we were up against this particular trip. Since I’ve been fly fishing for such a long time (about 70% of my life, when I think about it and used a calculator) and had such fancy and expensive gear, I thought I must be pretty good. I wasn’t. For most of the time, he knew exactly where to fish, how and when, and as a result caught so much more fish than me, particularly in streams and rivers. This made me realize that actually, I still have lots of things to learn so in this blog I will, in addition to waste your precious time with nonsense (which is an imminent risk, I fear), try to show you what tricks in fly fishing I learn as time passes. My first video post will be about my favourite adult caddis dry fly pattern. I think I will call it the CFF foam caddis.

Leave a Reply

